The Terriers Had A One Night Stand

9 May

I went to the dog park with the two terriers and a cup of coffee and returned with the terriers and a fluffy! Meet Nameless:

Nameless

Nameless

This boy was going to be abandoned by his dad AT the dog run. A family member told him he couldn’t just do that,  at least give him to a person.

Nameless

Nameless

The poor boy! I asked the guy if he would give the dog to me, and he handed him over. Never asked my name, or for my phone number. Just: “You’ll give him a good home?”

Nameless

Nameless

Well, the little boy came home with me. All I knew about this guy was that he only liked human food, marked a bit and had previously lived with kids. I saw he was fine with other dogs while at the dog run and hoped he would make friends with my cat.

Nameless

Nameless

While at home, he was still in “owner search mode,” understandably. It was so, so sad. Not overtly anxious, but definitely confused and seriously looking for the man who had been caring for him. But he wasn’t too interested in “human food” and couldn’t really settle.

Nameless at the vet

Nameless at the vet

More adventures through fostering equals more information about my own happy family! So what I learned:

Goose the little terrier, will protest the dog no matter what the size!

Nameless in the car

Nameless in the car

Bird, the larger terrier,  likes having boy dogs in the house (and on the bed)! They decided to be friends and play at 1:00am on my bed.

Bird & Nameless

Bird & Nameless

Sal, the hairless, one-eyed kitty doesn’t care too much about new dogs. As long a he has covers to sleep under and lots of yummy human food, he is happy camper! Nameless determined that Sal was his playmate and initiated play with no response.

Nameless

Nameless

Nameless, as I called him, was so tempting to keep all to my own! Great dog skills, awesome with handling and a good boy all around! Too bad I don’t want another small/medium dog! Thanks to Tristan‘s finder and caretaker, Rachel, I quickly found a foster-to-adopt couple! In less than 24 hours, he has a place to call home where he will be showered with lots of attention. Nameless is currently getting a needed grooming and I can’t wait to see what he will look like!

3 Responses to “The Terriers Had A One Night Stand”

  1. Queen of Zoom May 9, 2013 at 11:36 AM #

    Sometimes people are truly trash; so glad you were there to take the little guy!

    • That Touch of Pit ... May 9, 2013 at 11:43 AM #

      Though we’re glad we were there to take the dog, too, we try not to judge those who do things like this. For all we know, something disastrous was going on in this family’s life and they just didn’t know what else to do. We all need to try to spread awareness that there are other, better options than abandoning a dog this way.

      • Queen of Zoom May 9, 2013 at 11:51 AM #

        That’s true, I just get so annoyed when I hear things like this 😦

Leave a Reply

