What Fred Taught Me…Part 1

15 Jan
Who wouldn't fall in love with this guy?

Who wouldn’t fall in love with this guy?

Right before the holidays, I was a bundle of nerves. I was about to foster (and possibly adopt) Bully Project‘s Fred. It was love at first sight. I spent a lot of time with him, watching him in lots of situations. Since I have smaller dogs, and an older dog and a cat, I needed to know a lot about any new canine that becomes part of my family – even just temporarily. Plus the terriers, are well, terrors terriers!

Fred proved to be the perfect candidate. Because of timing and location logistics, I only had one opportunity to introduce one of my dogs to him before he went to his first short term foster. I chose Bird, the medium scruffy terrier, thinking she had the most to say about things like this. She didn’t want to walk down the aisle with him but also didn’t think he was a serial killer. Good enough for Bird. Good enough for me.

So, on a lovely Sunday afternoon, Fred came to live with us. Within days hours, I learned this:

1.  Pitbulls (especially Fred) are the biggest snugglers!

2. Fred was loved. He might have been abandoned in a house but at some point, someone showed him love, taught him manners and cared for him. Even if he had the most cropped ears! (A comment I heard so many times!)

3. Fred loved meeting the local butcher for his Knucklebones!

4. Fred was very patient with his new household.  Never pushy, always waiting his turn.

photo-14

5. Fred could make anyone smile on a walk! And, made friends of all ages.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Pitbulls can be great dogs at the dog park. Just like with any dog, an owner should be responsible.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. People might give you the stink eye when you walk into a dog park with a pittie.

8. Once you go pittie, you never go back!

20121216-235451.jpg

More to come…

9 Responses to “What Fred Taught Me…Part 1”

  1. And Foster Makes 5 January 15, 2013 at 11:27 AM #

    LOVE this! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂 It sounds like Fred is going to have the best life ever. I especially loved the part about ‘once you go pittie, you never go back.’ SO SO true! It is amazing what a gentle, kind-hearted dog he is… it sounds like he was really doing his best to win you over! Don’t you wish he could tell you his story? Thank you for what you have done for this sweet boy, I love to hear stories with happy endings.

  2. Morgan January 15, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

    Fred looks like such a lover! I agree, once you go pittie you never go back 🙂

  3. Amy Jo January 15, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

    I love this….”once you go pittie, you never go back!”

  4. barbarajkennedy1014 January 15, 2013 at 11:48 AM #

    I met and spent time with Fred in our dog park. He was a joy to know. By our second meeting, he greeting me like an old friend.My little terrier mix dog “grr’d” at him(as he does many dogs, and Fred paid him no mind.I’m sorry he doesn’t live near us anymore, but I know someone got themselves a great dog. Knowing the bp people, Fred has a wonderful, new family.

  5. devineopine January 15, 2013 at 1:15 PM #

    once you go pittie you never go back

    truer words have never been spoken

  6. Two Pitties in the City January 15, 2013 at 7:16 PM #

    I have an Internet crush on Fred! And I completely agree…once you go pittie you never go back.

  7. rachel January 15, 2013 at 11:49 PM #

    He looks just like a dog at a local pittie rescue here, so handsome! It’s true, I’ll never own another type of dog again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Fred Taught Me…Part 2 « That Touch of Pit… - January 17, 2013

    […] Fred was trying to fit in with everyone – the terriers, the skinny old minpin, the hairless one-eyed kitty and all the folks at the park! He was really a saint! […]

  2. What Fred Taught Me…Part 3 « That Touch of Pit… - January 18, 2013

    […] one was not love at first sight (remember Bird didn’t fall in love right away).  Etta was a girl and trying to push Fred’s buttons. I think Bird and Etta couldn’t […]

Leave a Reply

