What Every Pet Owner Needs!

8 Nov

Every pet owner should be lucky enough to have a friend that lives near the emergency vet. When I was director at an animal shelter here in NYC, my friend Jenn lived right around the corner from Blue Pearl Vet, our shelter’s go-to specialty and ER vet. Any time of night, I’d call Jenn, and she’d come right over! Sometimes with Andy, her therapy dog.  Often, I would come back into the lobby, and Andy was sitting on a the lap of a waiting owner. The waiting room is never easy!

It’s always great to have a second set of ears when going to any vet appointment, but that’s not always possible with emergencies! So many people I know would ring Jenn when they were there. Who wants to wait alone? Sadly, my friend Jenn moved and she is no longer my go-to person!

Thankfully, Josh is my new ER friend! He lives a bit farther than Jenn did but he is always there for me (and my pets)! When my Sphynx, Salamander, had his eye removed at the hospital, Josh offered a late night visit that included pics! How reassuring to know my little one-eyed alien was getting some extra love and attention! Definitely made me sleep a little better that night.

This weekend, Josh immediately stepped up to the plate when my friend and I arrived with her dog needing emergency services. I was there for my friend, yet I also needed that “person” because I was just as distraught. Not only was Josh a familiar face when we arrived, he made sure we got caffeinated!

And, I cannot forget my dear, dear friend Barb, who will always accompany me to the vet with my animals. I’m a big sissy when it comes to my pets. I cry at the mention of a problem. (When it’s an adoptable, I go into practical and calm mode).  Barbara, a retired nurse, is always reassuring and calm. It’s hard being a single parent to pets in times like this and it’s nice to know you (and your) pets have an extended family.

Do you have a vet-friend? What makes them good at being your go-to person?

3 Responses to “What Every Pet Owner Needs!”

  1. Sara November 8, 2012 at 11:43 AM #

    My friend Natasha comes with me to the vet all the time – she’s the calm and rational to my panicked and upset, plus she’s another person my fearful pittie trusts so it helps him out to have another pair of re-assuring hands too.

  2. Barbara J. Kennedy November 8, 2012 at 12:29 PM #

    I can relate to this post because I just lived it. Last evening, my senior dog reached the end of her life(respiratory issues-probably collapsed trachea). This was not a new problem, but one that was being managed. Jennifer made arrangements with the vet for

    the euthansia, found the only can running in this area, came and got us, and stayed in the room until Molly left this world. I could only stay there until the sedation took Another dear friend, Danita(whose dog was injured earlier this week and has spent alot of time dealing with this)was there too and was a great comfort. I don’t know what I would have done without them.I can deal with outher people’s issues , but not my own. Thankful for my “vet” friends
    f

  3. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom November 8, 2012 at 1:00 PM #

    I don’t have a vet friend, my hubby will go along if something is wrong or I need help wrangling Boomer and Dottie but I’m the one that understands the lingo and what’s going on having worked in a clinic.

Leave a Reply

