Cone Conundrum Part 2

16 Oct

Last week, I posted about a friend who was having trouble with their dog who’d just been spayed. Well, folks, you may have guessed this, but: “my friend” was me and “their dog” was Ethel. Whatever I would do, she just wouldn’t cooperate and wear her cone calmly.

So I reached out for your help. I had to fib a little because Ethel wasn’t yet officially adoptable, so I couldn’t write about her yet. But I was just at a loss. How could I leave her home, while I was at work, and know that she was ok?

We got some great feedback and everyone was really helpful. But our good friend Megan wins the prize! (To refresh your memory, Megan is one of Bully Project’s greatest success stories!) She wrote:

“Does the dog worry at her stitches without the cone on? I never had a cone for Dayzee when she was spayed and I didn’t see her mess with her stitches once. Maybe the cone is not even necessary.”

This simple statement reaffirms the idea that every dog is an individual, and that includes whether or not they need to wear a cone post-surgery. So thank you Megan, for yet again opening our eyes and helping us help Ethel. It actually worked out in Ethel’s favor anyway, as she got to tag along to Josh’s office for the week and sneak into a little Wordless Wednesday action!

 

2 Responses to “Cone Conundrum Part 2”

  1. And Foster Makes 5 October 16, 2012 at 10:31 AM #

    NOTHING better than take your pup to work weeks 🙂 Glad Miss Ethel is doing well! She is lucky to have a foster family that cares enough to look at her as an individual. Keep us posted, and get well soon, Ethel!

  2. Megan October 16, 2012 at 4:21 PM #

    I’m glad my experience with Dayzee was helpful to you and Ethel. I think it’s good to try to think simply and with trust until a dog proves they have an actual issue they need some help with or distraction from. As noted, dogs are individuals and some need things that others don’t and most dogs are pretty good at telling us when they need or want (or don’t want) something. I wish all the best to Ethel on her path to her forever home. As always, thanks for all you’ve done and do for both dogs and their people.

Leave a Reply

