What Would Stephanie Tanner Say? Part 2

5 Oct

Following my post on Tuesday about online behavior, I stumbled across this thread on my Facebook wall (pictures have been removed and names blurred out of respect for privacy):

And I was just sort of…stunned. Do I agree that what Michael Vick did deserves justice being served? Do I think karma is a bitch? Well, sure! I think he should be behind bars for the crimes he committed. He should be made to be an example of what the consequences of animal abuse are.

But to see someone publicly posting, “PTS PTS PTS PTS PTS,” about another human being is astounding to me. Even after knowing that the article was a complete hoax, it doesn’t change the fact that people want to see another person severely injured, maimed or even worse.

More importantly, as animal welfare and pit bull advocates, does it serve our cause to be saying things like this? Are statements like this effective in showing that we, as pit bull owners, don’t have our dogs as symbols of machismo, aggression and violence? Don’t expressions of outward hatred like this only lower us closer to the level of the initial crimes committed?

The original poster is a personal friend of mine – one who I know has tons of compassion and love in their heart, and a level head on their shoulders. Was their intent, in my opinion, based in anger like this? No, I don’t think so – I think they just meant to share a piece of ironic news to show that karma will come around a get the bad guys in the end. But the way this online discussion degenerated disturbs me, and I strongly feel that despite all of our anger towards Michael Vick, we need to be sure to maintain our focus on showing how amazing our dogs can truly be – for that’s the only way to change perspectives.

4 Responses to “What Would Stephanie Tanner Say? Part 2”

  1. Sam October 5, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

    I think, that it isn’t so much as wanting to see someone damaged, but wanting to see justice. Reality? Vick shouldn’t be where he is. He should be cleaning poop in a shelter for the rest of his life, with every dollar he earns going to pit bull rescues, not in the adoring eyes of the public. He got off scott free, when he caused suffering to no end. I think the “pts pts” isn’t so much of “lets damage him” as – let see justice be served.

    I may be wrong though!

    Sam

    • That Touch of Pit ... October 5, 2012 at 1:24 PM #

      I think you’re correct in that thought, Sam, and we too would like to see justice served. But my point is: posting a comment asking him to be “PTS” is not the image pit bull advocates should be projecting. Yes, we should be promoting the fact that justice has not been served, and he deserves greater punishment and less admiration – but we can accomplish that in more effective way than comments like these.

  2. And Foster Makes 5 October 5, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

    When you read about the detailed ways that Michael Vick personally tortured and brutalized his dogs, it can be difficult to see him as a human being. To me, he is a monster, particularly when he still refuses to acknowledge or apologize for his wrong-doings. My opinion is that most of the people who made these comments see him in a similar light, which allows us to forget that he is entitled to the same liberties as the rest of us. I appreciate that you brought this issue to light, however, because I fully agree that if the dogs are our ultimate concern, we all need to hold ourselves to higher standards. In the grief and frustration that followed his scandal, it would be easy to sink to his standards of violence and aggression. However, as you so graciously stated, we need to rise above his immorality and maintain the proper focus; the dogs. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Emily @ Our Waldo Bungie October 8, 2012 at 2:02 PM #

    I wish that rather than continually giving more and more publicity to Michael Vick, we should focus on getting animal cruelty laws changed in the U.S. to make them much more severe. It’s our justice system that allowed him to serve only a few years for his heinous crimes. Instead of expressing our hatred for him on FB, let’s learn our lesson and get to work at getting the laws changed to prevent future dog fighters from getting off lightly!

Leave a Reply

