What Would Stephanie Tanner Say?

2 Oct

Jennifer was recently interviewed for an article that’s running today in the Wall Street Journal. Fancy, right? Yes. It addresses an issue that I think has begun to bother us all quite a bit lately, what with all the political hullabaloo going on. Called, “Why We Are So Rude Online,” Elizabeth Bernstein writes, “Whether on Facebook, Twitter, message boards or websites, we say things to each other that we would never say face to face.”

Jennifer was contacted about this issue in regards to a certain online argument over our favorite topic: pit bulls. The Wall Street Journal created an interesting little graphic (I repeat: we did not create this graphic) to exemplify what happened:

So, we want to know: has something like this ever happened to you? Over pit bulls or other topics? Has it ever resulted in the loss of a friendship? Has it lead to new or unexpected friendships?

Better yet, tune in to a live chat at 11:30am EST and get involved in the discussion. But don’t be rude! Stephanie Tanner wouldn’t “Like” it.

6 Responses to “What Would Stephanie Tanner Say?”

  1. Rebelwerewolf October 2, 2012 at 10:38 AM #

    Ahaha Stephanie Tanner! Wow, that takes me back.

  2. Laura @ Heartbeat-At-My-Feet October 2, 2012 at 11:19 AM #

    That graphic could be the comment stream from any article about pit bulls, positive or negative, I’ve ever seen. Which is exactly why I don’t bother reading comments on those things anymore!

  3. TwoKittiesOnePittie October 2, 2012 at 2:16 PM #

    LOVE the Stephanie Tanner reference! HA…totally takes me back. 🙂

    I definitely agree that people say things online that they would never say in person. I have been really fortunate thus far, as no one has said anything mean to me about pit bulls!

  4. And Foster Makes 5 October 2, 2012 at 6:08 PM #

    Love the graphic and the post! Unfortunately for us though, we have received as much pittie criticism in person as we have in the virtual world. We just keep doing our thing to improve the stereotypes and misconceptions!

  5. Fairly good post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed studying your weblog posts. Any means I’ll be subscribing to your feed now, thanks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Would Stephanie Tanner Say? Part 2 « That Touch of Pit… - October 5, 2012

    […] my post on Tuesday about online behavior, I stumbled across this thread on my Facebook wall (pictures have been removed and names blurred […]

Leave a Reply

