Doggie Kisses

6 Sep

When Emily from Our Waldo Bungie asked me to send her a few photos of me and my dogs (which were included in this video, which you should all watch…as soon as your done reading this post), I was intrigued by the fact that two of the three pictures I chose show my dogs kissing me, aka licking my face.

Lucy Kisses

After looking at that, how many of you are completely, totally jealous absolutely disgusted with me? So many people I know abhor the idea of a dog’s tongue coming anywhere near them. I sort of get it – dogs lick themselves. Then they use the same tongue (obvi) to lick you.

Paige Kisses

Conversely, some of you are probably, “Oohing,” and “Aahing,” at how cute these pictures are. Some people cite arguments that say a dog’s mouth and tongue are cleaner than a human’s, and have enzymes in the saliva that do magical, special things to keep their mouths super disinfected. Even more contest that it’s how the dog shows their affection for their owners.

So where do YOU stand? Will you be lining up at the next doggie kissing booth you see?

10 Responses to “Doggie Kisses”

  1. Emily @ Our Waldo Bungie September 6, 2012 at 10:23 AM #

    I totally let my dogs kiss me – although I prefer them to keep their kisses on my cheeks or chin or forehead. Rufus tries to dive bomb my mouth with his tongue, which is where I draw the line. No making out, puh-leese.

  2. pitlandiapooch September 6, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

    We loooovvveeee Athena kisses and she loves to give them! I used to think it was really gross to get kisses from dogs until I had my own. Now I’m all for it!

  3. Rebelwerewolf September 6, 2012 at 11:10 AM #

    I know I’m supposed to be grossed out because my dogs do things like try to eat trash, but I lean in for puppy kisses anyway. I make a similar face to yours in the pictures, too.

    • That Touch of Pit ... September 6, 2012 at 12:23 PM #

      I guess I do sort of “make a face,” don’t I? Never really noticed that. Maybe I don’t like them as much as I think I do?

  4. Tina-Critter Crusaders September 6, 2012 at 12:20 PM #

    I am totally game for puppy kisses, of any kind. However, I like them on my terms. My boyfriends JRT and my current foster are both quick little boogers and often go in for a make out session, even as I am saying “NO” they can get their little tongues where I wish they wouldn’t… but it is sort of funny in hindsite…

  5. cookingwithdogs September 6, 2012 at 1:18 PM #

    I love dog smoochies – even drooly ones!

  6. Laura @ Heartbeat-At-My-Feet September 6, 2012 at 5:11 PM #

    My dogs are smoochers, and I love it! Although, former foster Tucker had a nack for timing it just right to lick when my mouth was open, that was kinda gross…. 🙂

  7. Nancy Goodman September 7, 2012 at 4:37 PM #

    I wish my April would kiss me. Something in her unknown life before me instilled this non-kissing in her. I kiss her all the time but I had to first teach her that she didn’t have to dip her head to the floor. Sooooooooooo, all of ya’ll consider yourselves lucky from my point of view. And give your block heads kisses from April and me!

  8. Mr. and Mrs. and Nola Kisses September 11, 2012 at 12:21 PM #

    We LOVE it so much when Nola kisses us, as you can tell by the name of our blog. She kisses us all the time, on the head, face, hand, ears, you name it. And when we want one and she doesn’t offer first, we even has a ‘kisses’ command. I think we created a monster, though. She kisses everyone, and like you said, not everyone is a fan of doggy slobber.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s In My BarkBox? « That Touch of Pit… - September 18, 2012

    […] Grilled Venison formula, so we’re looking forward to giving this one a shot too. We all know I love my Lucy kisses, but I love them even more when there’s fresh breath involved! […]

Leave a Reply

