Separation Anxiety

23 Aug

Those are two pretty scary words, huh? Separation anxiety can be one of the toughest issues to handle with a doggie companion. It can result in destruction of crates, furniture and more and cause some serious harm. Not only that, but it requires a lot of patience, understanding and dedication on the part of the owner. But what happens when it’s not the dog who’s experiencing the separation anxiety, but the human?

You see, I have a vacation coming up; a trip that’s going to be lots of fun and honestly, very much needed. Some time away might be exactly what this aching body needs. But what does one do when he’s stressed out about leaving his beloved dog at home?

Josh & Lucy

The stars just don’t seem to be aligning for pet care for this trip. Our regular dogsitter isn’t available. Guess what? Neither is the back up dogsitter. What’s worse? The only doggie daycare facility I trust: fully booked. I mean, as if I already didn’t have trust issues with other people taking care of my sweet, little Lucy: remember the story of that little car accident that happened while I was out of town?

Lucy’s Permanent Scar

Fortunately for me, I’ve still got a few weeks to work this out, but what’s a guy to do? How do you handle your separation issues when you have to be far away from your pet? Even if your pet has reliable care, do you still stress out the way I do, and want to call home every five minutes to check in? Am I just being a little overbearing absolutely insane? Help, please! How do you train a human not to have separation anxiety?!

11 Responses to “Separation Anxiety”

  1. Kristin August 23, 2012 at 10:08 AM #

    Sorry, I’m no help. When you find out, let us know, because I’m the same way. I forgo trips because I don’t trust anyone to watch my pups. I can’t bear to kennel them at the vet and we don’t have day care facilities in my area.

  2. pittiefullove August 23, 2012 at 10:41 AM #

    I feel you!!! Seriously… we just adopted Chocko 7 weeks ago…and out fall is back to back filled up with weekend trips. It’s terrible…We pay trusted friends to stay at our place… or take our pooch (for a swap later ‘voucher’ if they have a dog too). I know you know 2 dogs is tough, but if you can find a buddy of Lucy’s to watch her for the week, maybe you can give them an I owe you! thats what we tend to do. Good luck!

  3. Emily August 23, 2012 at 11:31 AM #

    Ugh. I hate when that happens! Maybe you could check out another dog boarding facility and do a few days trial at doggy daycare to see how Lucy likes it before leaving her there for an extended period of time?

    • That Touch of Pit ... August 23, 2012 at 11:39 AM #

      I’m not really concerned with Lucy liking Doggie Daycare – I know she will! Goof ball is so super social. It’s whether I will like it. I have come across so many daycare facilities here in the city that are just “businesses.” In other words, they have no regard for the well being of the animals, and I just can’t leave Lucy in a place like that.

  4. positivelypittie August 23, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

    We ended up finding a vacation home where we could bring our dog! I know this isn’t always possible but it’s something to consider for the future. Good luck!! 🙂

  5. Kelly August 23, 2012 at 7:17 PM #

    I’m in the same boat anytime we leave town. I want to call our dog sitter, Aunt Karen, each day to see how they’re doing. I always make sure the treat jar is stocked up, there’s chicken stock in the fridge, and peanut butter on the counter top. It’s actauly one of the top things on our list of “if we move.” The concern being, who will take care of Annie and Paul when we’re gone.

  6. cafall August 23, 2012 at 7:40 PM #

    I can’t help you – I fall completely apart!

    Sam

  7. Jackie Cangro August 24, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

    I understand completely! I’m usually a wreck on the way to the airport, thinking that I’m never, ever, ever going away again. And that’s even if I have my very reliable friend dog sit at my apartment. I check in more often than is probably reasonable and thankfully she doesn’t think I’m crazy.
    But once I’m away and having a good time, I relax a bit. It’s good for us to be a bit independent. Right? 🙂

  8. Marcela August 24, 2012 at 1:58 PM #

    Great post. By the way, don’t feel bad. The first time I had to go out of town and left my dog, Casey, in a kennel I had the worst separation anxiety attack ever. I was supposed to stay in New York for a couple of days visiting famil, but I was so worried that I went back to Maryland the day after I got to New York. Did it get better? Yes, but it has taken about 11 years and when I have to leave town I take my dog with me. I don’t have Casey anymore, but I have my girl, Alex, and the only time I leave her in a kennel is when I have to travel out of the US.

  9. TwoKittiesOnePittie August 25, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

    I was going to write a post about the exact same thing!!!! I am notoriously bad about going out of town because I hate leaving my pets… it causes me severe anxiety. I don’t trust anyone (even though I know that’s completely irrational). Since we’ve had Zoe, one of us (either my husband or myself) has been at home while the other was out of town — so that was no problem. But this winter we’re going to Europe for two whole weeks, which will be amazing (one of my closest friends is getting married!). But I’m incredibly stressed out about the idea of leaving the animals! I’ve never been apart from them for longer than a few days…

    Our plan is to pay my younger brother to stay at our apartment (he’s applying to vet schools right now/spent an entire summer at Best Friends/interned at a zoo this summer, so he is an experienced animal caretaker). But I’m still nervous about it, which is why I’ve enlisted all my SociaBulls friends to be back-ups in case something goes wrong. It’s hard, but we need to make sure to live our lives, right!?

Leave a Reply

