Blogging is Hard!

1 Jun

“The last vampire is the mother of all vampires and that is the vampire of despair. It’ll wake you up at 4am to say things like: Who do you think you’re kidding? You look like a fool. No matter how hard you try, you’ll never be good enough. Why is it that if some dude walked up to me on the subway platform and said these things, I’d think he was a mentally ill asshole, but if the vampire inside my head says it, it’s the voice of reason.” – [title of show]

Writing this blog has sometimes made me feel horribly inept. Inept at writing, creating, photographing, telling stories, connecting with people, and even caring for dogs. The self-consciousness referenced in the above quote eats away at me until I start considering other options, all ending in quitting. One day I have great confidence in my writing style, the next I feel like I stopped learning about the written word in third grade. My sentences come out stunted and unexpressive, albeit with impeccable spelling.

Other times I just get lost in finding topics on which to write. The stories that most frequently illicit responses from me are the ones none of us want to hear; stories of ignorance, hate, sorrow and irresponsibility. But I strive to keep this space positive and light, with useful information, intentions and inspiration. I resort to the old faithfuls of “Adoptables” and “Wordlesses” and “Letters” that the more topical stories fall away in favor of fluffiness and ruffles.

And I just can’t take a good photo even if my life depended on it. If there’s a good picture on this blog, anywhere, it’s most likely that Jennifer snapped it. If there’s a pixelated, red-eyed, alien-looking dog staring out of the computer screen – that probably came from my iPhone.

And then, to top it all off, I read brilliant stories full of passion and emotion all across the blogosphere on a daily basis. Not only about dogs, but about home design and decoration, food; a plethora of topics. You all have the power to tell stories so compellingly, I can’t help but reflect on the stories that my mind says I haven’t told – they’re all here, of course, but have they done anything?

So here’s my offer: I will do my best to slay that “vampire,” that “voice of reason” who tells me that I am not doing this right. I will continue to document my journeys with my fosters and Lucy and do my best to inspire you all. But I can’t do it alone. We have some very loyal readers (I can see the site stats people!), and I’m so, so, so happy you’re there. Talk to us! Did we say something you liked? Did we say something you didn’t like? Are you bored, is there something we should change, do you miss something we used to do, or have a new idea for us? Do you need advice? This way we can all make the difference in our worlds together.

20 Responses to “Blogging is Hard!”

  1. dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 10:39 AM #

    You’re doing a a good thing here. You’ve brought a smile to my face more than once. This blog has been encouraging to me. I hope you stay the course.

  2. dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 11:05 AM #

    For what it’s worth, I’ve been there. The last thing I want is to come off condensing, so please don’t misinterpret my comments, but the “vampire” you’re struggling with is a familiar foe. If I have something to offer, I will gladly to so. BTW, my camera skills are sorely lacking, so I can’t help you there. LOL

    • That Touch of Pit ... June 1, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

      Thanks for your comments! Photography is SO difficult, and my biggest challenge in this adventure. Pictures are a great way to convey a story, and when you can’t take them, well, where do you go from there?

  3. dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 11:15 AM #

    I misspelled “condescending”, so l clearly can’t help with spelling either!

  4. pittiefullove June 1, 2012 at 11:29 AM #

    I think your doing a really great job! When I feel like my pictures are slacking… I remember Aleks’s rules (turn off the flash, find natural light… etc). I also learned I love close ups! I’m by far not an expert in that area, but I know that IS one area I’ve improved a great deal since the start. The ideas, can’t help you there. I struggle just the same! I just tell myself that if I don’t have anything specific to say, I don’t post! I used to force myself to get 3-4 posts a week. There are some weeks I only get one up, but I hope (and usually think) it’s a good one. Don’t stress about the number of posts…the good ones will shine and keep you reader’s attention! I love the adoptable’s posts… FYI. 🙂

    • dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 11:32 AM #

      Good thought. Quality over quantity. Makes sense.

  5. dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 11:30 AM #

    I’m hoping to find a photography course near me, but it sounds like that may be hard with all that free time you don’t have! I only recently figured out what part of my camera should point at what I want a picture of.

  6. dragondix2 June 1, 2012 at 11:41 AM #

    A “Humor” section maybe? I enjoy a good chuckle, good for what ails ya!

  7. Lydia June 1, 2012 at 12:06 PM #

    Two years ago my boyfriend and I adopted a three-legged brindle pittie from the ASPCA. It’s weird, I can’t even remember what I knew about pitties beforehand, but I don’t think we even talked about their bad reputation before adopting him. My mom was nervous and all “I can’t believe you adopted a pit bull” and now she is their biggest advocate. Pittie owners LOVE pitties, and whenever I see other owners in the park there is always this knowing smile like, we both have amazing dogs, always smiling, always pulling on the leash, always thinking they are lap dogs, the biggest mushes on the couch. I love your blog because I love these dogs so much and any silly story or photograph, no matter how bad, makes me very happy. Keep up the good work!

  8. Tucker's Mom June 1, 2012 at 12:59 PM #

    Your blog is great! I think every blogger struggles with this. I know I do!

  9. Two Grads June 1, 2012 at 1:58 PM #

    I love hearing your opinions. You guys are more seasoned than us, and are a great inspiration. If it wasn’t for the blog – we wouldn’t have met!

  10. barbarajkennedy1014 June 1, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

    You and Lucy write interesting, factual and sweet stories. I’m not in a position to evaluate writing quality, but i think that the idea of writing anything is to communicate. You certainly do that well. ” That Touch of Pit” is filled with so much love and caring. I don’t think you need to change anything. Just keep sharing I want to know what’s up with the regulars, the fosters, and new happenings!

    Je

  11. ChrissyC (@ResQshelterdogs) June 1, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    I write the newsletter for our org and I know it can be daunting! What I love most about the blogs I follow is the comfort in knowing that other people out there are doing their part to make a difference. In our animal community it’s all relevant because it’s all relateable. Don’t change a thing! And many thanks for sharing-
    Chrissy

  12. Jackie Cangro June 2, 2012 at 1:37 PM #

    I remember seeing a good free webinar from Best Friends on how to take photos of black dogs/cats, which can be a real challenge! There’s lots of great tips that can apply to all animal photography.

    Here is the link if you’re interested. Scroll down almost to the bottom and you’ll see it.
    http://nmhpnetwork.bestfriends.org/Webinars.aspx

    Please keep up the good work! Yours is one of my favorite blogs.

    • dragondix2 June 2, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

      Me Too!

  13. Mimi & Cabana June 2, 2012 at 2:57 PM #

    I’m so sorry you’ve felt discouraged about your blog! I think about discontinuing my blog all the time, but then, I realize I’ve come this far, so I keep going. Mostly, I blog for ME. It’s nice when people respond, leave a comment, appreciate something I’ve shared–but even if they don’t, it’s okay. Blogging is a way for me to document what I’m doing, thinking, learning, and I love looking back at my old posts to see how I’ve changed.

    So there’s no right or wrong way to blog. And I think you’re doing a great job for a fabulous cause.

    As for photos, I think a huge part of taking a good photo is having a good camera. I don’t have an iPhone, but I don’t think a cell phone camera can compete with a real camera. It might be fine for photographing a flower, but dogs move way too fast. Even the shortest shutter delay will spoil the best shot. My best shots of Cabana come out of taking LOTS of photos of her within seconds of each other. The slightest change in expression, tilt of the head, or moving the angle of the camera, can make big differences.

    All that said, I will try to comment more. I just get lazy and tend to lurk….

    P.S. I love your new header!

    • dragondix2 June 2, 2012 at 4:28 PM #

      I totally agree about the purpose of blogging. My blog is more an online journal. You do great work!

  14. Emily June 3, 2012 at 5:44 PM #

    I feel your pain – I’ve been feeling that nagging “does anyone care about what I write?” monster rearing it’s ugly head as of late. Keep plugging along! I’m reading!

Leave a Reply

