My First Return

15 Mar

This past Monday night, Pinky was returned to the Picasso Veterinary Fund. To keep a long story short, it just wasn’t working out in her new home and I went over to their apartment to take her. To say I am disappointed is an understatement. I don’t mean I’m disappointed with Pinky, nor do I mean I am disappointed in her (no-longer) adopters. I’m just disappointed that the adoption didn’t work out, in general.

D. & M. are lovely people and love Pinky, clearly. The three of them, as a family, seemed so perfect and I had very high hopes for their lives together. So the fact that their paths had to part is very frustrating, albeit for the best for all involved.

Through this, we learned a very valuable lesson: a “foster with intent to adopt” situation is a great thing. Not only does it allow the shelter to lay out very specific terms that need to be adhered to in order for adoption to become official, but it also allows everyone to feel things out. Meeting a dog on the street is vastly different than living with that dog 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. In the long run, we think this will help us find the right home for Pinky, and the right dog for D. & M.

So where is Pinky now? Well, not at home with me, unfortunately. You see, this is one of the two times of year when it’s very difficult for me to have a foster dog, regardless of size, energy level, or any other factor. I work two full time jobs for the next six weeks. Yes, you read that right. Two full time jobs. 80 hour work weeks, plus caring for my own dog is quite enough for this single dad. This isn’t too say that I wont have a foster dog for the next six weeks – I just need to get me and Lucy into a schedule that works for us before adding another dog.

So Pinky is at a doggy daycare here in the city at the moment. But we are working with the Picasso Veterinary Fund to transfer her to a different daycare center in Westchester County called Paws and Play. At Paws and Play, she will not only get lots of love and affection from people, she will also get great socialization with other friendly dogs, and training from our good friend Ann of Canine King. On top of that, she’ll get exposure to the clientele of the daycare and maybe even find a home in the suburban area with lots of space to run and play! And we also hope to take her on outings in some of the towns in Westchester to get her lots more exposure! We’ll be sure to keep you updated on her progress and story.

10 Responses to “My First Return”

  1. Heartbeat-At-My-Feet March 15, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

    😦 Poor Pinky! Everything happens for a reason – If it’s not meant to be, it’s not meant to be.

  2. pittiefullove March 15, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

    returns are the WORST. But they happen to the best of us…one of the many obstacles and frustrations that come with fostering. Pinky will find her forever home soon! Worth the wait for the perfect match. Hang in there and good luck with your marathon next few weeks!

  3. Mimi & Cabana March 15, 2012 at 11:00 AM #

    I’m so sorry. I totally understand the sadness and dashed hopes and wishfulness of the situation. It’s great that Pinky can be at doggie daycare, though. Things could be way worse for her. Hope you get through this 2-job spate–that must be so exhausting. Wishing you a smooth next 6 weeks.

  4. Emily March 15, 2012 at 11:19 AM #

    I am so sorry to hear this. Returns suck, there is no way around that. But now Pinky will be able to find a family that is better suited to her needs. 🙂

  5. barbarajkennedy1014 March 15, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

    I follow this blog faithfully. I know how much effort went into helping Pinky find a home. It’s sad when things don’t work out, but I know you guys will help her find the best one.
    I admire the devotion you have to the dogs you are involved with.
    80 hour work weeks are insane. Take care of yourself.

  6. Tucker's Mom March 15, 2012 at 2:29 PM #

    So sorry to hear that Pinky’s adoption did not work out. I guess the thing to focus on is that she is somewhere safe, and is being lovingly and competently cared for until her forever family comes along.

  7. Dee Cas March 15, 2012 at 9:12 PM #

    THANK YOU FOR HOLDING OUT FOR PINK’S PERFECT MATCH, BECAUSE PINKY IS PERFECT, I LOVE U PINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  8. Donna March 16, 2012 at 6:38 AM #

    i’m so sorry to hear that Pinky had to be returned. Unfortunately, sometimes things just don’t work out. But I’m sure that she’ll have a home very soon. The main thing now is that she is safe. I’ll be thinking of her and hoping she’ll have a new home very shortly.

  9. Two Grads March 16, 2012 at 8:58 AM #

    We read this late last night (well text in a little) and it broke our heart. But we know that Pinky really needs that PERFECT home for her. And it is out there. For now, Pinky was lucky she has you!

Leave a Reply

