Saving A Life In My Pajamas

27 Feb

We’ve got a very special Adoptable Pittie of the Week today! Keep reading to learn all about her.

Not long ago, I was having drinks with friends to celebrate the passing of one the dogs in our “pack”, Robbie. While sipping my martini, a beautiful dog appeared on my Facebook newsfeed. Bebe was my type of dog: beautiful (even with cropped ears) along with nice SAFER evaluation. Her time at Animal Care & Control was up and she was on “the list.” I shared the picture with friends and we all said, “Aw,” and that was that because none of us were able to take her. No room at the room!

Bebe's original NY Animal Care & Control Intake photo

A few months ago, I would have considered pulling her for the shelter I worked at, but since I am no longer working there, I felt helpless.

So often, “good” dogs with excellent behavior assessments get euthanized because there are simply not enough homes. Homes  that are open to adopting a big, short-haired, muscle-y dog! Some say these dogs are being killed because they simply “have a cold.” The truth is: in NYC, it is a numbers game. We cannot adopt ourselves out of the problem. We need to encourage (not mandate) spay/neuter, create low-cost training options and programs to keep dogs in their homes, all while continuing to show how great pitties can be and dispel myths.

When I got home and snuggled with my dogs, I scanned my email and Facebook messages and came upon a message from a stranger affiliated with Buster Foundation in  Michigan:

“Hi there, 
I am friends with Hannah and she suggested I get a hold of you. Our Director for our rescue wants to try to save one of the dogs from Brooklyn set for tomorrow 6am. 
Bebe (tan and white pit, cropped ears) — ID # is A0922401
I have no idea to really go about this, other than the info listed to call starting at 6am to hold. 
Any ideas, help, suggestions?
Deniece”

I quickly looked at the pic and it was Bebe! It was meant to be that this girl get saved! But the stars needed to aligned. Again, I felt hopeless. It was 11:30 pm and Bebe needed to be “pulled” by 6 am by an approved group. The pressure was on. I emailed and Facebooked every responsible group/person I knew who could possibly help! Bebe needed to get to Buster Foundation.

Bebe's better photo which captured my attention even more!

Some questioned the request: “Aren’t there enough pitbulls in Michigan?” I totally agreed and would always ask the same question. But this felt different: the group was responsible and actually never pulled from out of state. But, obviously, this girl Bebe, her pictures and her evaluation made an impression!

Thank goodness, the Mayor’s Alliance for NYC Animals stepped up for Bebe and I was able to call in her “pull.” I was nervous and wanted to make sure everything I said was clear – this situation couldn’t handle any mix-ups. Bebe had a group of people waiting for her: transports were lined up for a multiple trip legs, and rescuers in Michigan were waiting to treat her kennel cough and pneumonia.

Well, thankfully, Bebe’s rescue worked out without a single flaw. And now Brooklynne, who was treated for her pneumonia, has just become available for adoption! So, Michiganders, start networking because this girl needs a home!

What I learned while in my pajamas? Everyone can help in simple ways:

  1. Support shelters and rescues that you have experience with first hand.
  2. Foster when you can and encourage others to do the same.
  3. Offer in-kind and service donations to groups. Food, treats, crates and enrichment toys are so important to groups.
  4. Have car? Will travel? Transportation is key to rescues, and both short and long trips are needed.

We can make a difference — one step at a time!

If you or anyone you know in the Belleville, Michigan area are interested in adopting Brooklynne, please visit The Buster Foundation’s Application Page.

-Jennifer

3 Responses to “Saving A Life In My Pajamas”

  1. Sam February 27, 2012 at 10:10 AM #

    Wonderful news! I think one of the greatest things about FB is it gets the word out there – and so many more people are now involved!

    Sam

  2. Two Grads February 27, 2012 at 2:06 PM #

    What a wonderful story – she is gorgeous!

  3. barbara Kennedy February 27, 2012 at 3:58 PM #

    Joy to read. Shows what people reaching out can accomplish! Good work!

Leave a Reply

