Jennifer’s Favorite Things

3 Feb

My first favorite thing this month is …Our readers! How cool it is that we all get to share our experiences, love and passion for our favorite “type” of dog. I truly believe this is a very special group of peeps, and glad to be a part of it!

I am excited to announce that the winner of our Favorite Things contest is Vanessa, of The Rufus Way. Vanessa, we will be sending you the info for your $50 certificate for MrChewy.com.

Now, on to the rest of my favorites:

1. Sometimes, I meet the nicest, smartest people who still think ALL pitties are dangerous. Often, I guide them to Malcolm Gladwell’s New Yorker article from 2006, Troublemakers, but understand that might be a bit of a commitment. So, I love to refer people to Stubby Dog’s Dangerous Dog Check-List which is easily digested and can be shared!
2. I love treat pouches since I always leave the apartment with treats to reinforcement good behaviors with my dogs. I am always looking for new options. One of the first blogs I started to follow and love was Ours for A Year. It was such a delight to find out that the blogger makes treat pouches! I love the colors!
3. Nothing makes me happier than bonding with people that have dogs with similar issues. Yes, I love people with goofy labs and sweet lapdogs. But, when I meet someone who has a dog with some reactivity on leash, I am in heaven and love to talk shop. Thank goodness for the new blog, DINOS: Dogs in Need of Space. Jessica has opened up a forum for people whose dogs need space for varying reasons – reactivity, illness, fearfulness, training, etc. Not only is it helping owners of DINOS, the message is spreading to MDIF folks (MY DOG IS FRIENDLY). When I posted Jessica’s original blog post, a friend said “THANK YOU, I didn’t realize that my super friendly dog shouldn’t always approach other dogs in the park until I ask.”

4. Although my dogs wear head halters, I often recommend Easy Walk harnesses to help
people management pulling while training loose leash walking. Unfortunately, I have been so conflicted about buying and recommending products from Premier since a shock collar company now runs the show. Today, while chatting with Heather from Handsome Dan’s Rescue For Pitbull Type Dogs, I was delighted to find out about Hello Bully’s front clip harnesses.
Why I love them:
a. proceeds benefit the non-profit group and their mission is to rescue, rehabilitate and repair the reputation of the American Pit Bull Terrier.
b. the great color options
c. no need to give money to a shock collar company!
Have a fabulous weekend!
5 Responses to “Jennifer’s Favorite Things”

  1. barbara Kennedy February 3, 2012 at 3:01 PM #

    I enjoyed your favorite things, and learned alot from reading it. I spend a great deal of time with my dog and other dogs in the dogpark where he is, ofcourse, unleashed, and on walks in the neighborhood where is on his leash. As the person on the other end of the leash, I enjoy learning as much as I can about reading social cues from other dogs, and I can best react to different situations.

    • Miss G February 3, 2012 at 5:53 PM #

      It is refreshing to read your number three. As the owner of a pit bull mix who was very well socialized for the first year of his life, it was very hard for my husband and I when he began developing resource guarding issues and got into a bad fight with another dog at the local park. We were distraught and really committed to working with him independently and giving him time with the help of professionals to progress through this issue, no matter how long it took. Unfortunately, shortly after we were ostracized by the people who had heard about the fight. There were pictures of the other dogs wounds posted in a blog post link that was shared on the facebook page for the local dog run. People who we had become very friendly with no longer say hello to us on the street, pull their dogs to the other side of the sidewalk, and we have more than once caught them switching directions completely when they see us approaching during a walk.
      Our dog has always been a friendly dog and all we wanted for him from day one was to develop into a loving animal that would help prove the stereotypes that people hold about pits and pit mixes wrong. However, now not only has he been labeled and shunned but as his owners, we have been as well.
      I wish more people could be like you because the experience has been difficult and makes me understand why people are reluctant to adopt Pitt bulls (not agree with-but understand.) it has been particularly difficult on my husband who had made some friends from the dog-loving world who he would correspond with via text and phone. Yey They have since not responded to him at all.

  2. Two Grads February 3, 2012 at 11:57 PM #

    I cannot wait to go read this malcolm gladwell article!

  3. Vanessa February 4, 2012 at 12:25 AM #

    Wow! So excited to win your contest! Love your blog, and thanks for the opportunity! P.s. email is Vanessa.dufoe@gmail.com

  4. Of Pit Bulls and Patience February 5, 2012 at 5:15 PM #

    Thanks for the shout out about the front clip harness! Skye has an easy walk, but it’s getting old and I really didn’t want to buy another one. I’ll take a look- I love the colors!

Leave a Reply

