Some of Josh’s Favorite Things

27 Jan

This month, my “favorite things” is going to start with my most favorite thing ever.

Now that the sappy part is out of the way, let’s move on to more fun stuff:

1. How to make a dog kennel from an Ikea shopping bag and camping mattress. I think Ikea Hackers is one of the most brilliant blogs around. Readers take products from Ikea and repurpose them or modify them to fit their needs, submit photos and instructions, and moderators post them for all to see. I have been inspired by lots of these projects, but this one speaks directly to the dog lover in me.

2. The HumungaStache by Moody Pet (and all of their other products). Hilarious. I wish I had enough to send every single one of my foster dogs home with one for all of eternity. Heck, I wish I had just one so I could make Lucy walk around New York City with it on!

3. Moleskine Passions Dog Journal. There seems to be a journal like this for every other significant event in life: births, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, etc. So why not have a journal to document your new canine family member?

4. Here’s a “Dog Balancing On A Chain.” I saw this video on The Ellen DeGeneres Show, and immediately shared it on my own Facebook page – but I also want to share it here. Dogs doing tricks like this amaze me.

5. The Animal Planet reality show Pit Bulls & Parolees. I know we all already watch this show, but it still deserves a shout out. Especially this video of an amazing Frisbee dog.

6. This photo from Love and a Six-Foot Leash‘s Facebook Page:

That would be the wonderful Sir Chick with his foster brother Snickerdoodle modeling some pretty darn fancy bowties from Sirius Republic! This photo led us to the discovery of our next favorite thing…

7.  A new line of collars from Sirius Republic that will benefit Love-A-Bull, an Austin, TX based pittie rescue and advocacy group through which Snickerdoodle is currently adoptable! Here are the new gorgeous collars, of which 20% of all proceeds will go directly to Love-A-Bull:

Head over to Love and a Six Foot Leash’s blog post for more information!

8. Lastly, we love CONTESTS! So here’s one for all of you. Leave a comment on this post with one of your favorite dog-related things: a product, company, service, video, blog – whatever! We’re leaving this open-ended because we want to know what YOU love. Tell your friends to tell us what THEY love. And what’s the prize for this fun little contest? $50 worth of food or treats (of YOUR choice) from Mr. Chewy (yet another one of our favorite things)!  Our winner will be chosen by an online randomizer and the only restriction is that you must comment by midnight tonight, January 27, 2012.

So get commenting, friends!

25 Responses to “Some of Josh’s Favorite Things”

  1. Diane McCornack January 27, 2012 at 10:24 AM #

    Our favorite thing is ANTLERS!! A chew toy that I can buy the dogs that they don’t finish in 10 minutes and although a bit pricey in the long run a real cost saver!!

    • That Touch of Pit ... January 27, 2012 at 10:30 AM #

      Diane – our dogs love antlers, too! Here’s a discount code you can use on adkantlers.com to help save some money: doglife101.

  2. Emily January 27, 2012 at 10:34 AM #

    Our dogs have recently discovered Nylabones and I am not sure they will ever be the same! But I wouldn’t mind giving Turk that ‘stache toy because that would just be hilarious! 🙂

    PS – If you pick my name, will you order some dog food and donate it to one of your favorite NYC shelters? 🙂

    • That Touch of Pit ... January 27, 2012 at 10:37 AM #

      If you’re our winner, we will absolutely do that! (Isn’t it funny that we both coincidentally wrote about Mr. Chewy today?!)

  3. Cari January 27, 2012 at 11:58 AM #

    My most favorite thing will soon be my new Sirius collar for my Cupcake!!!! Just ordered it today and I’m excited!!!!

  4. David & Axees January 27, 2012 at 1:27 PM #

    Axees favorite thing is a long run and then napping

  5. Heartbeat-At-My-Feet January 27, 2012 at 1:57 PM #

    Well, Oscar’s favorite thing ever is freeze dried liver. We try to use it sparigly because it’s pretty fatty but he will do ANYTHING for it! I do have to second the antlers though, he LOVES those too. We recently found them for $2/each (huge – like 14 inch ones) on a trip to Alaska…needless to say, we stocked up. 🙂

  6. cookingwithdogs January 27, 2012 at 1:59 PM #

    I love the Sirius Republic collars – I plan on ordering one for each of my buddies, with matching leashes if possible.

  7. JoAnna January 27, 2012 at 2:49 PM #

    Kongs–we couldn’t live without them! Earthdog collars are another favorite, made out of environmentally friendly and comfortable hemp!

    • That Touch of Pit ... January 27, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

      Yes JoAnna, Kongs are a life-saver! How did people own dogs and not have them? Have you seen the BLUE ones? Apparently only sold by vets?

  8. barbara Kennedy January 27, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

    My dog’s Apache River dog coat. It’s very warm, and sized to fit him. They have sizes for the smallest to the largest dog. They require several measurement, so it ends up fitting just right.The coat lasts long and washes wellD The site, I believe is Apache River Dog Coats.

  9. Hanna January 27, 2012 at 3:08 PM #

    I LOVE all the free tutorials from Emily Larlham/Kikopup on Youtube. They are for everyone, people who have no idea how to train a dog to people who know a thing or two. So awesome….. http://www.youtube.com/user/kikopup

  10. claudia January 27, 2012 at 3:53 PM #

    My new favorite is the Kong Wobbler – I wrote about my love of it here http://afranklinaday.blogspot.com/2012/01/earning-my-dinner.html. It makes dinner last more than 30 seconds and makes the pups do a little work for their kibble.

  11. Rachel January 27, 2012 at 4:30 PM #

    i can’t believe i’m saying it, but i really love dog clothes in general. not all of them and not all the time, but put a pink bandana on a girl dog and i turn to mush. mr. b of two pitties in the city with his frog costume on? i swoon!

    also, i too love the humungastache. that is awesome.

  12. Vanessa January 27, 2012 at 5:29 PM #

    Bully sticks! Rufus goes nuts for them. My favorite thing? Rufus in a bow tie. Love!!

  13. Natasha January 27, 2012 at 8:29 PM #

    Razers favorite things include a cheese and peanut butter filled kong, bully sticks, & antlers(pretty much anything he can eat!) I love his Sirius Republic collars and custom ID tag that tells everyone he is a love-bug.

  14. Running with Squirrels January 27, 2012 at 8:33 PM #

    I would have to say my favorite dog toys are Jolly Balls! Apparently, they were originally designed for horses but they now make smaller sizes for dogs. The handles get chewed off in about 3 seconds but they stay round no matter how many punctures they have and our pitties love to chase, shake, and wrestle with them.

  15. Two Grads January 28, 2012 at 10:12 AM #

    OMG I can’t wait to watch Ikea Hackers. Pitbulls and Parolees is our all-times favorite show, we swear that Havi is into it also!

    I think all three of us love Havi’s EasyWalk Harness it totally changed training her to properly walk!

  16. doria January 29, 2012 at 6:57 PM #

    Hi Josh – what an AMAZING blog – it’s gorgeous and so helpful! So great to meet you and Lucy and Ms. Pinky today. Can’t wait to walk again?

  17. Of Pit Bulls and Patience January 29, 2012 at 7:48 PM #

    I have so many favorites, but I absolutely love Sofa City Sweetheart ID Tags. There are so many options and they last forever!

Leave a Reply

