A Really Good Job

19 Jan

Exactly one month ago, Pinky whirled into my life, and to be perfectly honest: I didn’t think I was up to the task. Remember that first post I wrote about her: The Whirlwind Foster? Well, it wasn’t an exaggeration. She had, and has, so much energy. But she did not get adopted as quickly as I’d initially anticipated.

A sidewalk encounter yesterday showed me just how far she’s come in this past month. The neighborhoods in New York are just like neighborhoods anywhere else. In fact, sometimes I think we get to know the other people in our areas better than in suburban places simply because of the close proximity in which we all live.

There are several people now in Hell’s Kitchen who know me as “the guy with all the dogs.” I think they know I only have two at a time, but over the past few years, they have seen me walking at least 7 different dogs. They’ve gotten to know them all, and I’ve gotten to know them. It’s been quite…interesting.

There’s one woman who I see everyday. No joke. I’m always either walking Lucy or my foster. Well, last night, I was out walking Pinky and we happened to be chatting with someone on the sidewalk who stopped us because he saw Pinky’s Houndgear Adopt Me vest.

Pinky was on her utmost best behavior. Sitting on command, not trying to remove her Halti, and being the amazingly affectionate pittie that she always is. And my neighbor noticed. She noticed the difference in Pinky’s energy level, the difference in her obedience, and the difference in the manner in which she expressed her affection.

She stopped for a few minutes to chat with us, and the first (and last) thing she said was: “You’ve done a really good job.” I felt a kind of pride that doesn’t come very often, and a resurgence in confidence that Pinky will absolutely find the right home.

9 Responses to “A Really Good Job”

  1. Heartbeat-At-My-Feet January 19, 2012 at 10:14 AM #

    Wow…doesn’t that just making you feel AMAZING??? Congratulations, and thank you for being an awesome pittie ambassador. Love your blog! 🙂

  2. Two Grads January 19, 2012 at 10:16 AM #

    WOW! Thats AWESOME! Youll find the perfect home!

  3. barbara Kennedy January 19, 2012 at 10:34 AM #

    I have always admired peoople who foster. It’s such an unselfish, generous thing to do. Both you and Lucy deservehigh praise for getting your foster ready for her new life.

  4. Emily January 19, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Way to go! I think it makes a huge difference to show how good foster dogs can be with a little work, annnnnd she’s a pittie at that! You are awesome!

  5. Tucker's Mom January 19, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

    Congratulations! I am sure that Pinky will find a wonderful home, with your help, and her adoptive family will, I know, feel as deeply indebted to you as I do to Phoebe’s foster mom. To know that someone cared enough to be a loving, caring family to my little girl before I came to take her home forever is something that moves me to tears when I think of it, and I will always feel the utmost gratitude to her foster mom for taking such good care of my girl for me!

  6. Running with Squirrels January 19, 2012 at 7:29 PM #

    You are so right … small moments like that make all the difference and keep the motivation going. It’s a great reminder of how much you can help a dog in need, but also how important it is to verbalize kind thoughts that you have to other people.

  7. Kate @ Twenty-Six to Life January 20, 2012 at 1:05 PM #

    That’s awesome!! It’s great to get that kind of response from people 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Longest Foster to Date « That Touch of Pit… - February 23, 2012

    […] taught me a valuable lesson in fostering over these two months; one that I wrote about briefly a while back. You see, with my last foster dogs, there wasn’t really anything to work on. They all seemed to […]

  2. Letters from Lucy: Help Us Win $1500!! « That Touch of Pit… - July 19, 2012

    […] To the hard work: […]

Leave a Reply

