Awards!

12 Jan

So just over a week ago, our friends from Our Waldo Bungie graced us with two lovely bloggie awards – the Kreativ Blogger Award & the Liebster Blog Award. Both of these concepts are totally new to me, so apologies if I don’t do this right. Hopefully you’ll still love me anyway.

Speaking of Our Waldo Bungie – did you see their post from yesterday about beautiful pittie Kimba? PLEASE read it and help support Kimba in what will be an amazing journey of recovery and love. They definitely know a good dog when they see one (I mean, have you seen their foster pup Ginger Rogers?), so we know Kimba’s gotta be special. They’ve already managed to surpass shatter their fundraising goal, but how does the saying go? “The more the merrier”? Yeah, I think that’s it. So, if you can spare a moment and a couple of bucks, please do. UPDATE: Here’s an update from today about Kimba!

Now back to the matter at hand: AWARDS! I love awards, and especially awards shows – the Grammys, the Tonys, the Oscars, the Emmys, etc. So receiving awards is spectacular for me. The first of the two I will address is the Kreativ Blogger Award.

The recipient of said award is supposed to reveal 10 facts about themselves that were not previously known. So here goes:

1) Before meeting my Lucy at Animal Haven, I had never met a pittie in real life. I always loved dogs, but was never around pitties. I grew up with, get this, a toy poodle named Tilly. She’s an AWESOME dog, and still behaves like a puppy even though she’s 16 years old. I love her.

2) I’m a total foodie. I don’t have a lot of money – but invite me out to a fancy restaurant, I’m there, and probably ordering the weirdest thing on the menu. Elk? I’ve had it. Boar? That, too. Yum!

3) Along the lines of being a foodie: when I was a child, all I would eat was lemon flavored Dannon yogurt and jelly (no peanut butter here, folks!) sandwiches with the crusts cut off. Who’d have thought that I would grow up to special order hand-made hot sauce from the US Virgin Islands?

4) I’m a twin. My brother is 1 minute older than I am, and he never lets me forget it. He and his fiancé live on the Upper East Side of Manhattan with their two dogs: Zoey (the puggle) and Jake (the tergle, also adopted from Animal Haven)!

5) If you know me, or ever meet me, you would never think the following of me, but: I’m a thrill seeker. I’ve been bungee jumping, I travel to foreign countries on my own and let myself get lost, I want to go skydiving, I wish I knew how to drive a motorcycle, and rollercoasters are my favorite attractions at theme parks.

6) I’m a Disnerd. What’s a Disnerd, you ask? Disney + nerd = Disnerd. Let’s put it this way, if they made Disney Princess dog costumes large enough to fit my dogs, you can be sure that Lucy would be a different one every time we set foot outside on Halloween. Or a Little Green Man from Toy Story – they’re my fave!

7) I, too, like Our Waldo Bungie confessed to, bite my nails. It’s a horrible, terrible, gross habit and I honestly do it completely subconsciously. It takes someone telling me to stop for me to even realize that I’m doing it.

8) I have one other bad habit: buying new sneakers. I have almost 50 pairs. Don’t ask where I keep them all in my quaint one bedroom Manhattan apartment.

9) I’m an Anglophile. I love the UK, especially London, and everything about British culture. If I had the courage, I would pick up my life and move there. The biggest problem with that idea is the UK’s restrictions on “dangerous breeds.” Ugh.

10) People make fun of the way I eat pancakes. First, I put butter on each pancake and stack them. I then cut them 3 x 4 pattern, pour syrup over them, and eat each stacked section leaving the center sections for last. It’s weird, a little OCD, and absolutely necessary. I do it every time I have pancakes.

And here’s my little cheat: I’m going to give you an 11th fact, something that’s a huge part of my identity, and that I think is very important for my readers to know about me. Most of the other bloggers in our little community here are couples: married, dating, living together, etc. I am single guy – but on another level, I’m a single gay guy. Like the pitties we love so much, the gay community is constantly discriminated against and judged, and maybe this is one of the reasons that I am so drawn to them. And I guess this shouldn’t really be such a huge surprise, right? In previous posts, I’ve written about musical theater, fancy collars, and more. It’s not something I hide at all, since there’s no need to. But I started this blog to write about my experiences, and being gay impacts every experience in my life. And now we’re moving on…

The Liebster Blog Award! This award asks the recipient to identify five other burgeoning blogs – it’s a way to highlight blogs that the recipient enjoys and wants to share with their readers.

I think the one requirement is that the blogs chosen should have no more than 200 followers. Well, I have no idea how to determine that information, so you’re just getting blogs that I love. Here goes:

1) 3Legs2ndCity – We first learned of this blog from Two Pitties in the City when its writer adopted their foster pup, SuperLevi. It’s about Greta, the 3 legged pittie, and now, Levi.

2) Between Trains – First off, I just love their tagline: “Helping dogs prepare for the next leg of their life’s journey.” Such a beautiful sentiment, and the main reason I think we are all in this crazy fostering community. But beyond that, it’s just a great read.

3) Deaf Dogs Rock – When I was just 16, I got my first job managing at a Gap store. We had a woman on our cleaning staff who was deaf. Apart from her translator, who was not with her full time, I was the only person able to communicate with her, and I could only “fingerspell” at that. She was immensely appreciative of the effort I put forth in communicating with her and getting to know her. It left a lasting impression on me (obviously!) and I have always taken great inspiration from people who are hard of hearing or deaf. Now that my life has taken a turn toward animal rescue and fostering, I have very much become inspired by deaf animals, as well.

4) Derek the Dog – He is “pretty awesome…..most of the time.”

5) Bounce House – Because just look at that perfect white pittie face and those perfect black floppy ears!

So now, those five blogs I just shared are supposed to do the same things I just did. And…go!

-Josh

9 Responses to “Awards!”

  1. Two Grads January 12, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

    1. Congrats on the award, well-deserved!!
    2. Go you about fun fact #11, many of our friends and family members are gay and we have friends that are black, Jewish, etc. If you look hard enough you can find people discriminated against for no other reason than they are not like you. Just like our pups.
    3. I actually just learned some great new blogs!
    4. Were huge foodies. We cook every night and save up every last penny for fun dinners out of the house. Weve done The Smith, Agave, Blue Water Grill, Beauty & Essex this break!

  2. Emily @ Our Waldo Bungie January 12, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Daniel makes fun of the way I drink (apparently I stick my tongue out a little underneath the glass)…so don’t feel bad about the way you eat pancakes! 🙂 And solidarity to my fellow nail chewer! 😉

    PS – Thanks for sharing about Kimba (now Juno)! She needs all the help she can get!

  3. Kate @ Twenty-Six to Life January 12, 2012 at 12:01 PM #

    omg, I’m glad I’m not the only person who eats food in a particular way! Solidarity!

    I love that you went from a toy poodle to pitties. Just goes to show that pitties aren’t really that “tough” (or maybe toy poodles are actually tougher than I think ;)) As for #11, kudos for being open about it on the blog. As you said though, no surprise 😉 I’ll have to check out the other blogs you mentioned!

  4. Vanessa January 12, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    I love hearing more about the humans behind the cute faces I follow! I love all of your quirky facts, and look forward to reading more!

  5. Tucker's Mom January 12, 2012 at 4:22 PM #

    Congrats on your award! I love the pancake thing. I have a friend who does something similar and it cracks me up every time I watch her do it.

  6. TwoKittiesOnePittie January 12, 2012 at 6:22 PM #

    Thanks for sharing, and congratulations on the award! I discovered your blog a few weeks ago, and just love it! I appreciate your honesty and bravery in telling us so much about yourself. You rock. And if you — and Two Grad Students — ever make your way over to Chicago, we have some awesome restaurants to try. (Even if we are the “Second” City). 🙂

  7. Between Trains January 12, 2012 at 10:31 PM #

    Thank you so much for the shout out! I really enjoy your blog too 🙂 and I just love your theme, I almost chose it myself, but saw you already had it!

  8. jacquelincangro January 13, 2012 at 9:33 PM #

    It’s so nice to get to know the guy behind all of these great posts!

    A tergle?

    • That Touch of Pit ... January 14, 2012 at 9:32 AM #

      Haha. Yes, a tergle. It’s a breed name I made up, maybe it’ll take hold? ::Fingers crossed:: Jake is a terrier and beagle mix. So, terrier + beagle = tergle.

Leave a Reply

