Letters from Lucy

3 Nov

So apparently Dad says I have to talk about Lola Bird again. Whatever.

This is the story of how I met Lola Bird – mine and Dad’s favorite foster! Really late one night (I was already asleep!), Dad walked in with another pittie – she was tan and very skinny! But she seemed nice enough, so I thought I’d give her a chance.

Lola came from a place called Animal Care & Control – I’ve never been there, but Dad says I’m lucky for that. When Lola came in, she had this grey stuff all over her, it looked like tar, but we found out that it was acrylic paint! The nice groomer around the corner couldn’t even make it come off despite the work she put in! Her teeth were decayed and some were even cracked and missing. And her ears were short and uneven looking – not long and floppy, like mine. You can sort of see the paint in this picture Dad took:

Despite all of that, she seemed very happy to be home with us – and we all had a really good time getting to know each other. I’m really grateful that she came around because now Dad lets me on the couch. You see – when I was a really little girl, I had a little accident on the couch. Dad had some guy come over with a huge, noisy machine, and after that, Dad never let me back on it. But it was the only place Lola Bird would lie down and relax. And now I get to go on the couch, too! No accidents this time, though!

Dad’s really big on all of us being what he calls, “Breed Ambassadors,” and he said I could learn a lot from Lola Bird, even though I knew so much already. But Lola Bird, since she is much older than me, is a lot wiser, too. She made everyone around her feel loved – including me.

I think that’s enough about her for now, though. In my next letter, I’ll tell you all about how we “survived” Hurricane Irene!

3 Responses to “Letters from Lucy”

  1. Pauley James November 3, 2011 at 11:12 AM #

    Lucy, we are ever so happy that Lola Bird made it to your house. We agree that she is much too skinny! Enjoy your time on the couch 🙂

  2. Kate November 3, 2011 at 2:52 PM #

    Lucy, Lola Bird is happy to know that you are now allowed on the couch! She has gained 7 pounds – looks sleek and is very happy – thank you for opening your home until her new mom could drive her to her new home in New Orleans!

  3. barbarajkennedy1014 October 11, 2012 at 10:13 AM #

    I enjoy the letters from Lucy. The updates are wonderful. Makes us readers feel connected. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

