Meet Jennifer, Bird, Goose & Rosie

19 Oct

My first memory of a “pit bull” is of not being able to meet him because my godfather said he was not friendly and was kept in the basement when guests visited. Now I wonder if he was aggressive, aroused, or maybe missing some manners. Nonetheless, I never met him. Maybe he was under socialized, maybe under-exercised, or maybe he was hardwired to be aggressive. I will never know, but I do know that my godfather kept and loved that dog till the day he died.

Since that experience, almost 20 years ago, all of my memories of bully like dogs have been wonderful – from the throw-away momma bleeding out from a bad delivery who only wanted to give me kisses as she was dying, to goofy pups playing at the dog run. I am an admirer of pit bull like dogs and a strong believer that these dogs need to be treated like individuals.

My love affair with these bully dogs started almost 10 years ago, when I landed a dream job working at a New York City private animal shelter. Part of the job is matching families and dogs. It is amazing to me that parents, busy as they are, want to bring a pup into their home. I am sometimes more excited for them than their children. Including kids in the adoption process is a challenge especially when parents were afraid that pit bulls would attack their children in the middle of night. I often found myself defending the “pit bull” like dogs, which created a great opportunity to open up people’s minds.

I love to talk and I can talk about dogs, dog training, rescue and pits forever – ask my friends at the dog park! My menagerie includes a 6-year-old smart as a whip cattledog/terrier named Bird, 4 year old clown of a terrier mix named Goose, a mature yet loud miniature pinscher named Rosie, and one orange sphynx who thinks he is a dog!  I think my lady dogs will like to share their home with a mature, mellow boy pibble that they can boss around…one day.

I hope this blog will be an extension of my conversations about the breed that many don’t understand. Although I don’t share my home with with a pibble, I am the pittie stalker in the park.  I am first to go meet the new pittie dog and owner.  I often work hard showing skeptical dog owners how great that blue nose is with dogs, or what a soft personality the newly adopted brindle boy has.  Yes, I am that person.  I believe conversations can start change, and hope this blog helps.

I am lucky to have that touch of pit in my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

7 Responses to “Meet Jennifer, Bird, Goose & Rosie”

  1. Emily October 19, 2011 at 5:40 PM #

    Yay for starting a blog! I, too, did not have any contact with pits for a long time and always thought they were all the bad characteristics that people said (mean, aggressive, violent, dumb, etc) until I accidentally adopted a pit mix as a baby (my Turk). As he grew older and grew into his “pit face,” I had to re-examine the ideals I had about them because my Turkey didn’t have any of those characteristics. Since then, I have become an avid pittie advocate and have been proven over and over again, that pits and pit mixes are just dogs, and to me, they are the sweetest, most loving, kindest, and most gentle dogs I know. YAY for pitties!

  2. barbara Kennedy October 20, 2011 at 7:52 AM #

    Great blog. Pitties have bneen misunderstood and maligned for many years. I’ve done a complete 180 about them- thanks to Jennifer and her kind, nonjudgemental way of educating all of us.

  3. Aleksandra October 20, 2011 at 11:33 PM #

    J- it would be understatement to say that I am thrilled that you and Josh are taking this on. I have been secretly wishing he would start a dog blog for a long time. Together you two are going to move mountains!
    XO, Aleksandra, Chick, & Curious Georgia

  4. Mimi & Cabana October 23, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

    I agree, you do have a dream job! My favorite part of the foster process is finding the perfect adoptive family. I also agree that I am amazed when parents of young children are willing to bring a dog into their household. It worries me in some ways, but with the right dog, I know it can be a fabulous experience. My kids were already in high school when we got our dog, and even then, we had a steep learning curve.

    I used to be one of those people who said pit bull types were not to be trusted. When I started volunteering at the shelter, I realized that was balderdash. Then, when I started fostering, my husband said I could bring any dog home but NO pit bull types. Finally, he came around, too, and we fostered and found a great owner for a wonderful white American bulldog. A dog is a dog, and each one is different.

  5. Rachele October 17, 2013 at 4:11 PM #

    You’re so cool! I do not believe I have read through something like that before.
    So good to discover someone with genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone
    with some originality!

  6. press November 16, 2013 at 7:32 PM #

    I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site.

    I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by
    you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get
    my own, personal site now 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yes, Dogs Go Missing « That Touch of Pit… - January 26, 2012

    […] I am embarrassed to admit, this week, I managed to lock my precious older dog, Rosie, the miniature pinscher, out of my apartment. She went roaming the building while I slept away with […]

Leave a Reply

